The call last night was absolutely correct. When I saw it happen in real time, I immediately looked to see if Joyce would call it. When he pointed, I started celebrating. And, I think it's a good rule too. Here's why. It's not a punishment for the defense. It's not like a 5 yard penalty for being offside or anything. The sole purpose of the rule is to make the runner whole. There was nothing Middlebrooks could have done, but that doesn't (and shouldn't) matter. When the ball went into the OF, the game was effectively over. Without being tripped up, Craig scores easily, which is what the rule is trying to rectify.
It sucks for Boston. It really does, but they didn't lose the game on obstruction. They lost it on an errant throw. And let's not forget, the only reason Middlebrooks was in Craig's way at all is because of the awful throw that his teammate made.
This is the point that never gets mentioned. I've been saying this since it happened.
Boston fans can piss and moan about how a game shouldn't end like that, but the Sox made their own bed on that play. Saltalamachia had a piss poor throw to 3rd, which caused Middlebrooks to dive for the ball (which he probably should have had btw), and then he's laying in the path that Craig needs to take to get home.
100% correct call, and it's annoying to hear anyone say a game shouldn't end like that...because if it didn't end like that, that means Craig doesn't get awarded home for being interfered with when he would have easily scored otherwise...which would have been a crime against the Cardinals if he wasn't awarded home.
2014-2015 Sponsor -- Blues Asst. Coach Kirk Muller