What an amazingly crappy call, but it pleases me to no end that it went against the Wings.
Puck was in the net on the original shot about 3-5 seconds ahead of the whistle. Goal judge didn't see it, ref didn't see it, he blows the play dead. Even though every replay shows the puck is clearly and cleanly in the net well ahead of the whistle sounding, he says he had intent to blow the whistle, thereby nullifying the goal. I just assumed that if a replay showed it was a goal, it was a goal. I had no idea about this "intent to blow whistle" rule.
Official sponsor of Ian Cole 2011-2012 Official sponsor of Gary Bettman's Pink Slip 2013 Official sponsor of Dmitrij Jaskin 2013-2014
This is my question. Assuming the ref did mean to blow the whistle before the puck went in. How the (Frank) does he know when that time was? He isn't watching the replay. He has no clue when the puck went in. Why did they even review it then? That's the biggest BS rule in the world. Listen, the ref can rule no goal if he meant to blow the whistle or his whistle didn't work, BUT ONLY IF HE ACTUALLY SEES WHEN THE PUCK WENT IN! He should make that call definitively and immediately. Otherwise, it goes to the booth and they make the call.